Spiritual Life

We Americans are confused about spirituality, especially those of us who are Christians.

Church life today is so focused on Sunday morning that I regularly fall into the trap of thinking that what happens then is the definition of spirituality. I think of powerful worship and heart-felt prayers. And that translates into my personal life. I feel less spiritual when my prayer life or personal Bible study wanes. I define spirituality by a limited set of activities. Maybe you do the same thing.

But, I really like what Paul has to say about this:

I have received full payment, and more. I am well supplied, having received from Epaphroditus the gifts you sent, a fragrant offering, a sacrifice acceptable and pleasing to God.

As he thanks his brothers and sisters in Philippi for their gift of money and other physical supplies, he reminds them that those things constitute spiritual activity.

This reminds me of a very important biblical concept: that we cannot separate the physical world from the spiritual world. Everything we do has spiritual consequences, whether for better or worse. Stealing a candy bar has spiritual consequences. Holding the door for someone has spiritual consequences. The little, routine things I do every day are just as spiritual as what I do in a church building on a Sunday morning.

What this means for us practically is that we ought to see seemingly small acts of service as spiritual revolutions, and seemingly small sins as spiritual rebellions. It also means that what I do Monday through Saturday is just as spiritually significant, and just as important, as what I do on Sunday. How I live matters just as much, if not more than, if I go to church and how powerful my worship was.

But that is a hard lesson to learn and maintain. May God help us in our spiritual lives.

One thought on “Spiritual Life

  1. Hi Clint. I have thought long and hard and decided I must address the doubts I have regarding some of the teachings within the church of Christ. I will post some of my concerns on my current blog. I hope you can understand my doubts and perhaps even comment.

    Randy

Leave a Reply

