Generations

Sociologists say that generations are defined by important or traumatic events. The Great Depression. World War II. Civil Rights. Vietnam. JFK’s Assassination. The Challenger Explosion.

They say the defining event of my generation is 9/11. They say that this has had a heavy hand in molding my contemporaries and me into what makes us different from our parents. Though our parents experienced it they responded to it differently, having a history of other formative events to influence their reaction.

But, I do not want to be defined by 9/11. I do not want to be afraid to fly. I do not want to be cynical and nihilistic. I do not want to be prejudiced.

I want to belong to a generation defined by heroic and humanitarian acts. I want to be known as one of those many kids coming up who cares about the world and the people in it. I want to be positive and productive, and I want an army of Good Samaritans around me. I want to be blind to pigment and burqas and luxury vehicles, and I want, instead, to see people as thumbnail images of God.

In short, I don’t want to be defined by 9/11, or recessions, or electronics and the internet. I want to be molded and motivated by the single most important event of history: the cross of Christ and His empty tomb. I want to be a Christian, and I want to be a part of the generation that re-introduced Christ to the world.

4 thoughts on “Generations

  1. Good thoughts. How many of your readers do you suppose know what the word nihilistic means? It’s a $5.00 word once I looked it up.

    • I don’t know how many know what it means…I could do a survey if you want 🙂
      I hope more of them learn it, though, because it has become a major feature of popular postmodern culture, and seems to be here to stay for awhile, if not a growing trend.

      Anyway, I’ll put a link to Paypal on the blog and you can send your $5.00 electronically.

Leave a Reply

